

2024

EPRI annually recognizes power generation industry professionals who have led efforts to implement EPRI technologies and processes to benefit their companies and the industry at large. This commitment to technical excellence and collaboration exemplifies the important work that drives the generation industry to continuously improve performance.

The Generation Council Technology Transfer Committee reviewed 34 award nominations, providing their industry-wide perspective, and selected 12 for Technology Transfer awards, recognizing 57 recipients in 18 EPRI member companies worldwide.

We are pleased to announce the following winner selections:

Air Quality and Health			
Program	Nomination	Member	Winner
Long-Term Catalyst 232 Assessment for CO, NOx, and VOC	American Electric Power	Jeffery Hofacre	
	-	Salt River Project	Jose Hernandez Randy Bullock, Landon Lunsford
	NOx, and VOC	Southern Company	

Digitalization			
Program	Nomination	Member	Winner
227	Enhanced Flexibility and AGC Control	NTPC Limited	Ravindra Kumar, Chandramouli Kasina, Vijay Porwal
227 Automation Index for Combined Cycle Unit Southern Com	Automatica Iadau far	Alabama Power Company	Brianna Byrd, Antonio Heard, Adam Pierce, Johney Weaver
	Southern Company Services, Inc.	Chethan Acharya, Charles Boohaker, Don Elmore, Mark Faurot, Wes Weaver	

Materials			
Program	Nomination	Member	Winner
229	Super 304H Steel Life Assessment Methodology	Korea East·West Power Co., Ltd.	Gil-jae Lee
		Korea Electric Power Corp.	Han-sang Lee
		Korea Midland Power Co., Ltd.	Jung-tae Kim
229	Material Specifications for New Plant Design	LG&E and KU Energy LLC	Hamit Afiyet, Nathan Huster, Matt Sanders
229	Best Practices in Fitness for Service	Salt River Project	Sheldon Lee, Jonathan Lucas, Clancy Wilkerson
		Tennessee Valley Authority	Josh Burgess, Mark Koss, Jeremy Pou

Next-Generation Fleet			
Program	Nomination	Member	Winner
221	Concrete Thermal	Alabama Power Company	Rob Szmyd
	Energy Storage Pilot	Southern Company Services, Inc.	Josh Barron, Scott Machovec, John Poole, Scotty Westbrook

Renewable Fleet			
Program	Nomination	Member	Winner
206	Wind Turbine Health Monitoring	Enel Green Power	Ricardo Crisostomo, José Manuel Orza García, Alessandro Matera, Jonatan Nuñez
206	Digitalization of Wind and Solar Assets	Tucson Electric Power	Michael Bryan, Gary Gardner
207		WEC Energy Group	Douglas Bishop, Cody Craig, Josh Knize, Craig Leroy

Renewable Fleet & Transmission Operations and Planning			
Program	Nomination	Member	Winner
207	Flexible Solar PV Integration	Georgia Power Company	David Ault
173		Southern Company Services, Inc.	William Hobbs, Anita Pressley

Thermal Fleet			
Program	Nomination	Member	Winner
	Advanced Gas Turbine Self-Maintenance Guidance	KEPCO Research Institute	Jung Jinesung
217		Korea Western Power Co., Ltd.	Ohm Kyong-II, Heung Moon Ka, Sang Yong Lee, Jungsub Lim, Je Jung Mun
219	Phased-Array UT Inspection for Turbine Blades	Constellation Energy	Bill Campbell, Tim Ernst, Jeff Melvin, Steve Myers, Mike Salley